Our customer service is one click away. Call us at (866) 216-8700

Newsletter

DUI Penalties in the State of Nevada

Like most of the states, Nevada has strict penalties that are imposed on drunk drivers.  While it’s okay to walk the streets under the influence, don’t even think about operating a motor vehicle.  If you are caught driving under the influence in Nevada, prepare yourself for an uphill battle with both the DMV and the Nevada State Court.  While it is imperative you consult with your attorney first, if caught driving under the influence in Nevada, you can expect the following:


DUI Penalties in the State of Nevada

1) Jail Time-

Jail time anywhere from a minimum of 2 days or up to 6 months or (at the court’s discretion) 24 to 96 hours of community service instead of incarceration.  In the latter scenario, the court usually imposes a suspended jail sentence of 6 months.  This, however, only occurs in limited circumstances.

Free Shipping on Breathalyzer

2) Driving privileges are taken away-

Losing your license for 90 days.  A restricted license is only possible after half this suspension is served.  And if you are granted a restricted license, it is likely you will have an ignition interlock device on your car.  On the off chance you haven’t learned your lesson from being convicted of a DUI the first time, this handy device acts as a breathalyzer to ensure that any blood alcohol in your system is not above the programmed limit.  If it is, you won’t be able to start your car.

3) A number of costly fines-

A hefty fine from $400 to $1,000, plus court costs (which are around $600 for first-time offender).  There is also a $35 civil penalty fee.  You are also required to pay for your mandatory attendance to Nevada DUI School and may be required to attend a victim impact panel.  If your vehicle is impounded, you can except to pay at least $200 to get your car back.

4) Insurance Penalties-

Painful insurance consequences.  After a Nevada DUI conviction, it will be very difficult to get the insurance needed for the SR-22 form.  In most cases, your insurance company will raise your rates dramatically, but in some cases they may drop you entirely. If this is the case, other companies may be reluctant about giving you a decent rate.


You may also like these posts